Additional Considerations

Post-Secondary Scholarships

Universities are looking for exceptional individuals. Many programs are seeking students who have already gained exposure to the area of study.

Students hoping to receive entrance scholarships should aim for excellent grades (90%+), but we also recommend they take advantage of other school and community opportunities to gain experiences.

Choose summer and weekend employment with future plans in mind, and don’t forget that volunteering for quality organizations can be a smart option.

For further information, please visit the guidance office or click into the Guidance Site.

Procedures For Students Who Wish To Change Course Type

Students who are successful in any academic or applied Grade 9 course will have the opportunity to enter academic courses in the same subject in Grade 10 (exception: must have academic level Math 9 to enroll in academic level Math 10).

Grade 10 academic and applied courses will prepare students for specific Grade 11 courses. A student enrolled in a Grade 10 or 11 course that does not meet the prerequisite for a specific destination-related Grade 11 or 12 course may take a course of another type (eg. academic) that will satisfy the prerequisite for a course in a higher grade (eg. a university preparation course).

Prior Learning Assessment & Recognition

Prior learning includes the knowledge and skills that Ontario students have acquired outside secondary school.

A student’s prior learning is assessed for the purpose of granting credit for a course developed from a provincial curriculum policy document. Assessment instruments for this process include a formal test (worth 70% of the final mark) and a variety of other assessment strategies, such as written assignments, laboratory work, and observation of performance (worth 30% of the final mark).

Students may challenge for credit only for Grade 10, 11 and 12 courses. For students who are under the age of 18, or who are 18 or older but have not left high school for a year or more, a maximum of four credits may be granted through the challenge process, with no more than two in one subject area.

Scroll to Top